More Month Than Money

This is what always happens.  I start out so well and then there’s trouble.  The unexpected things that come up and I don’t have a plan of what to do.  I end up throwing the budget out and forgetting that I was ever trying to get it together.

Let me first say, we have savings, but if you’re like me, it is so much easier to take it out than put it back.  I have this very bad track record of taking it out and not putting it back.  There should be enough money, but all too often I cave and take the easy way out and put it on the credit card to worry about at a later date and don’t really change my behavior.  Most times it isn’t an emergency that I am talking about, it’s more like a school project, a date-night not planned for, or a bill comes unexpectedly.  For example, our propane company gives a discount for being a customer who will take a delivery when they are in the area.  We have have had the same company for 9 or 10 years.  The deliveries have always been in February and July.  They delivered today.  It will be due in February, not March when I have it budgeted.

Is it the end of the world?  No, but I am determined not to take the money from savings. I’ll be reworking the February budget over and over if necessary to make the money and the month even out without having a negative balance.

How about you, do you have a budget for February?  I’d love to hear?

Ann

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

